My baby crabapple tree went to a good home

I’ve decided to cut the air-layer and pot it up after my last post on my crabapple, considering that the tree was dormant, and was probably the best time to make the cut. Plus, I was a little concern about the mother tree due to beetle grubs ate a lot of the roots.

It sat there for a couple of months, and finally both the mother tree, and the new air-layered tree’s leafing out, and even throwing out flowers. The mother tree appears to be in good health, but I don’t see any suitable branches for another layer for a fellow gardener who’s wanted a white flowering crabapple for a while, so I decided to give away my first successful layer.

It’s sad to see my baby tree go, but I’m sure it will be a good home!

Crabapple

Crabapple

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

