Blondie Strawberries

Two strawberry posts in a row! Never seem to get enough strawberries nowadays with my son loving to eat PYO (Pick-Your-Own) strawberries!

I wanted to get these white strawberries since it was advertised in Pohlmans nursery’s 2015 autumn winter catalogue, it was said to have a slight pineapple flavour.

They were $2 a pot in the factory outlet section of their nursery on their spring open day, so I grabbed a couple. They’re a little pot bound and advanced in those small square pots, so I think that’s why they’re in the factory outlet area.

The good thing about them being advanced is they were already in flower, and so fruited very soon. I can tell you that they do indeed have a slight pineapple flavour, albeit a bit on the small side. I suspect they may be alpine strawberries, or a hybrid of it ~

The down side to it, is that it needs a bit of experience to tell whether a strawberry is ripe or not. I think I have left a few of them over ripe. Wonder how long the plant would last ~

Strawberry Blondie

Strawberry Blondie

Leave a Reply

