Snake Beans (Vigna unguiculata subsp. sesquipedalis)

Snake bean is the best performer out of all the beans in summer at the Subtropics ~ At least in my experience ~ This bean is also known as yard long bean, or asparagus bean, and are generally eaten as green beans when they’re immature.

I’ve been growing the brown and black seeded climbing variety in previous years, and saved seeds from them. Last year, I’ve saved seeds that were neither brown nor black, but mottled kind of pattern …

Snake Bean Seeds

Snake Bean Seeds

The image is showing brown seeds on the left, and black seeds on the right. In the middle are the mottled seeds I planted this year ~ There were about a dozen of them. I’ve split them into two successive sowing about a month apart. The first sowing was done in mid September, which germinated very quickly, within a week if I remember correctly, but were very slow growing in the first month.

They were so slow to start off with that I thought these seeds were going to be dwarfs…but they’ve been growing very quickly all of a sudden in the last couple of weeks. I have even noticed a couple of flower buds forming ~ I don’t think it’s got anything to do with weather though, because the second sowing is still growing very slowly. I think it’s taking its time to grow roots, and forming nodules with nitrogen fixing bacteria in the soil (I hope) ~

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Wally Bergmann on November 1, 2016 at 5:41 pm

    Liked your blogg I have about 20 varieties of snakebean and cowpeas I’m intereste in the mottled seed you show Is that one called dorries snake bean
    Are you interested in swapping or would you sell me a few seeds thanking you Wally bergmann 60 Investigator st Andergrove Mackay qld

    Reply

    • The mottled seeds are not any named variety actually. Don’t know why one of the plants I saved seeds from produced the mottled seeds…. I’ve only got four of these seeds left, and I can send them to you and see if you can reproduce it.. is that your address there?

      Reply

      • Posted by Wally Bergmann on November 13, 2016 at 6:52 pm

        Yes that is my address, postcode is 4740. I would really appreciate if you could send me a couple of seeds.I will send you seeds of some of my favourite rare varieties, I will also reimburse you for postage. Could you please enclose your address with the seeds.
        Many thanks
        Wally

Leave a Reply

