Where are my peaches??

Peaches ripening on the tree ~

Peaches ripening on the tree ~


This photo was taken on 14/10 when I had a quick visit to my parents’ place, and noticed the peaches have start ripening. I’ve told my parents about it, and they didn’t have time to get a good look to harvest until this past weekend, and guess what?

There were none left!!! None on the tree, and nothing on the ground either!!!
We’ve been battling fruitflies and possibly borers on this tree for its first couple of years, and after having chooks and baiting fruitflies for the past three years, we were only starting to harvest relatively fruitfly free fruits last year, and this year, we didn’t get any fruit!!!

I don’t mind sharing some with the wild life, but geez! They’ve got to leave us some!!!

At least with the Mulberry tree, and the passionfruits, the wild life and us both had a good feast! Same with the paw paw, we usually get some too! Were the peaches so good????

3 responses to this post.

  1. This is something I’ve been wondering about since moving to Brisbane. The possums at our place seem to eat anything they can find, even the leaves on my lemon tree! I’m starting to understand why some people have basically built cages around their fruit trees.

    Reply

    • I found that different possums have different food preferences. Some people say chilli sprays would deter them, but I have heard of possums which loves eating chilli plants, and then one of my colleagues’ local possum(s) loves parsley… I have a lot of possums at my place, have seen them and heard them often at night, but my plants appears to be relatively safe. The most destructive pests (to the garden anyway) at my mum’s place are her chooks, the possums don’t generally compete with us a lot, I think its coz they have plenty to eat, and are very picky… they ate all our longans last year, and it’s probably them again eating all the peaches this year.. that’s why I think they must have been good … 😦 ~ Thanks for dropping by! Interesting blog you’ve got there ~

      Reply

  2. Yes everyone keeps telling me chilli sprays, but I had a beautiful chilli plant with around 30 chillis almost ready and the possums came through and ate the lot! Maybe all this chilli spraying has given them a taste for the hot stuff! 🙂
    Enjoying your blog – I’m new to the Brisbane climate, slowly finding out what thrives in the gardens here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

