My first home grown hairy gourd

Hairy gourd, also called Hairy melon… I believe it is a variety of Winter melon ~

This is the first time I’ve successfully grown it… this is the first one on the vine….  I harvested it when it was a little over 1.3 kg ~

Hairy Melon won't fit into my mixing bowl....

Weighing in at 1.3 kg

Stuffed with pork mince, seasoned with dried mushroom, scallops, and shrimp… Yum~~~~

Yum ~~~

Recipe can be found here ~

2 responses to this post.

  1. How interesting! I have a packet of gourd seeds (purchased them 12 month ago) but I’m yet to plant them – definately will do now.

    The last image of your stuffed gourd looks like a great dish for a cool evening – very nice. I checked out the recipe link also and bookmarked it.

    Thanks for that 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

