Seed raising with bottom heat ~

I  have tried growing winter melon, hairy melon, and angled luffa from seeds purchased at Chinese Groceries a few times without success…

I was later given angled luffa seeds from a fellow seed saver which were successfully germinated, so I’ve blamed the quality of seeds, although I have successfully grown radish and Chinese mustard from those packets before.

It is that time of year again to sow melons, and I have noticed it is very warm on top of the small wine fridge in the garage, which was given to us as wedding gift early this year.   Although I have blamed the quality of seeds, but I have also suspected the soil I sow them to wasn’t kept moist and warm enough, so I went and bought a packet of hairy melon seeds.   Again.

This time I have sown eight seeds in toilet paper rolls, covered with cling wrap, and put them on the wine fridge.  In about a week or two’s time, all eight seeds have germinated!!!

And then my mum gave me some winter melon, hairy melon, and bottle gourd seeds she got from her friends when I brought over a couple of hairy melon seedlings to plant at her place ^^

Leave a Reply

